Recent News and Newsletters

Recent News

Philip Schaff Prize

The winner of the Schaff is Peter Brown, the Philip and Beulah Rollins Professor of History at Princeton University.  Brown’s book, Through the Eye of a Needle: Wealth, the Fall of Rome, and the Making of Christianity in the West, 350-550 AD, was published by Princeton University Press (2012). Brown will receive the prize at the Winter Meeting of the ASCH in January 2014.

The runner-up to the winner is Derek Peterson, Associate Director of the African Studies Center at the University of Michigan. Peterson’s book is entitled Ethnic Patriotism and the East African Revival: A History of Dissent (Cambridge University Press, 2012).

Joint ASCH-EHS Conference, April 2014

The deadline for submitting paper and panel proposals is January 20, 2014.

Sidney E. Mead Prize

The winner of the 2013 Mead Prize is Robert McEachnie, graduate student at the University of Florida. His essay “A History of Heretics Past: The Sermons of Chromatius of Aquileia, 388-407″ will be published in Church History in 2014.

Frank S. and Elizabeth D. Brewer Prize

The winner of the Brewer Prize is Matthew S. Hedstrom, Assistant Professor in the Department of Religious Studies at the University of Virginia. Hedstrom’s book is entitled The Rise of Liberal Religion: Book Culture and American Spirituality in the Twentieth Century. The publisher is Oxford University Press (2012).  Hedstrom will receive the prize at the Winter Meeting of the ASCH in January 2014.

The runner-up to the winner is David R. Swartz, Assistant Professor of History at Asbury University. Swartz’s book is entitled Moral Minority: The Evangelical Left in an Age of Conservatism (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2012).

ASCH Members Awarded Fellowships from the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS)

Four members have received fellowships from the ACLS for the academic year 2013-14.  Their fellowships are listed below as well as the title of their projects (in italics):-

Catherine M. Chin: Frederick Burkhardt Residential Fellowship
Associate Professor, Religious Studies, University of California, Davis
Incarnate Language in Christian Late Antiquity

Bronwen Catherine McShea: ACLS New Faculty Fellows Program
New Faculty Fellow, History, Columbia University
Cultivating Empire Through Print: The Jesuit Strategy for New France and the Parisian Relations of 1632 to 1673

Ellen Muehlberger: Charles A. Ryskamp Research Fellowship
Assistant Professor, Near Eastern Studies and History, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
The Moment of Reckoning: Death and Violence in Late Ancient Christian Culture

Leigh Eric Schmidt: ACLS Fellowship
Professor, Religion and Politics, Washington University in St. Louis
Public Atheism: An American History



October (Fall Edition)
(Winter Edition)


March (Winter Edition)
December (Fall Edition)


March (Winter Edition)
October (Fall Edition)


January (Winter Edition)
November (Fall Edition)


January (Winter Edition)
June (Spring Edition)
September (Fall Edition)




March (Spring Edition)
December (Winter Edition)


December (First Edition)